Sad Sally arrives!

At last spring’s Tonner Convention, Wilde Imagination’s Sad Sally made her debut. I instantly fell in love with her big, soulful eyes melancholy expression and yes… all that hair! I preordered her right away, along with all four Sad Sally outfits, as the combo deal was too good to pass up.

Fast forward three months. I must confess, I had almost forgotten about her. Not much has been said about her on the various message boards I frequent. But then I got the call that Sally was finally in and on her way to me. Yay! I couldn’t wait to meet her.

The UPS truck arrived today about 4 p.m. As I happened to be on vacation this week, I had time to immediately unpack and play with her. She is every bit as beautiful as I remember her to be. She is made of resin, which almost makes her glow from within. She arrived in a cute little brown polka dotted dress with striped tights and floral bloomers, arm gauntlets and black shoes. I had to play with her hair a little before it reached the heights it had in the promo pics.

dolls 277

Sad Sally

Her body reminds me a lot of Amelia Thimble, only in a slightly larger scale. Her joints are a little “kicky,” but not as bad as some of the Amelias have been. I will say her head is VERY loose. Pick her up and her head will fall either back or forward. But, stand her up and pose her head and it WILL stay at the angle you pose her in.

She came with four additional outfits. The first of which I tried on, Sad As I Am, I instantly fell in love with. I was also pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to get her tights on. I’m used to struggling with Amelia’s tiny little legs! Her shoes also fit very well. No worrying whether or not they’ll fall off! A beautiful outfit altogether.

Sad As I Am

Sad As I Am

The next outfit was NOT A Good Day. It consisted of pink striped tights, a mesh lace under dress and a sweater with a floral decoration. I liked the ensemble, but I didn’t care much for the way the floral decoration kept riding up under Sally’s chin. But it’s still quite fetching.

NOT A Good Day

NOT A Good Day

The third outfit, when I opened it, I didn’t really like at all. It’s called Sad Hearts, and while beautifully made, I’m not a red and black kind of person. And I don’t care much for hearts. But when I tried it on Sally… I instantly fell in love with it! It’s such a cute, fun little dress and suits Sally very well. I also love the black and white striped tights.

Sad Hearts

Sad Hearts

The last dress, So Blue, while very lovely, was such a pain to get on! I always seem to have trouble getting the small dolls’ hands through their tiny little sleeves! But once I got it on, I was smitten. I think this one is easily my favorite of all five of Sad Sally’s available outfits.

So Blue

So Blue

I’m really excited about this new doll line and really cannot wait to see more for her, including, hopefully, wigs! The only thing I can really complain about is the lack of a doll stand. I’m hoping Wilde Imagination will offer them in the future, because while Sad Sally CAN stand on her own, she has a tendency to tumble over. (I think all that hair makes her a tad top-heavy!) overall though, Wilde Imagination has scored a home run with Sad Sally, and I cannot wait to see what the future has in store!

One thought on “Sad Sally arrives!

  1. julidc says:

    Love your great photos & review! I just got the Halloween Con Centerpiece “Gimme All Your Candy” Sad Sally & adore her! So much in fact I started a group & I’d love have you join us! http://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/SadSallysSoiree/info

Leave a Reply

