Wilde Weekend 2012 – Day 2

Day 2 of our dolly adventure began bright and early as we got ready for the group tour of the Princess Diana exhibit at the Frasier Museum. We met up with the group in the hotel lobby when Amelia got promptly snatched up my WI’s Michelle for a picture which became a hit on Facebook.

This, of course, went straight to Amelia’s head.

We took the trolly up to Main Street, then walked four blocks to the museum. Unfortunately I wore the wrong shoes and ended up with blisters. Owie. šŸ˜¦

Downtown Louisville is chock full of museums and other points of interest.

Such as this giant baseball bat.

The Diana exhibit was amazing. Words cannot describe the breathtaking awe that we felt walking around the corner and seeing Princess Diana’s wedding dress in all its poofy glory standing in front of me. Sadly, we were not allowed to take photos inside the exhibit. But we were able to take some in the rest of the museum.

“Boys, boys. No need to fight over li’l ol’ me!”

Mom and I, being such big Diana fans, lost the group in the museum, so we walked back to the hotel, stopping for lunch at Panera Bread first. By that time we were both exhausted and the convention hadn’t even started yet!

We made it back to the hotel in time for registration where we received a lovely gift bag with some wonderful goodies inside. I got a vest and a pair of pants for Ellowyne, one in each convention bag, along with some other lovely things.

Perfect spot for Amelia to hang out.

Mom and I found a quiet spot on the Mezzanine level to go through the bags and ended up playing tour guide to quite a few con-goers who didn’t know where registration was being held. Yay for being able to help!

After registration, we had time to kill before the first event, so we just went back up to the room where I ended up taking a nap, Amelia conked out next to me.

The first event was the opening ceremonies, with the Imperium Park line featured. Our tablemates and table hostess were very helpful in explaining things to us newbies and I am very grateful we were assigned to their table. The centerpiece of the event featured Phineas and Theadora in matching black and white outfits. The table gift was a matching set of Victorian style underwear which I adore.

The table centerpiece.

I met up with a couple of Twitter friends from the Tuesday night #dollchat crowd.

Making new friends all over the place!

Door prizes were given away and the table centerpiece was won by Mom who bought them for me. I couldn’t believe it! I loved the two dolls and am so happy to have them!

I think Amelia is happy as well. Maybe a little *too* happy.

After the presentation was over, we hit the vendor room where I bought a new dress for the Ellowynes. But it was quite crowded and it had been a long day, so we headed back up to our room on the 5th floor and went to bed, eagerly awaiting what the next day would bring.

to be continued…

One thought on “Wilde Weekend 2012 – Day 2

  1. futuredoll says:

    Thank you for giving me a peek into this event. Looks like Amelia enjoyed herself too!

Leave a Reply

