TonnerCon 2015: Guilty Pleasures — Days 4&5

Day Four

Our last day all together! I actually woke up feel so sad it would all be over in a couple of hours. The last event of the convention was a breakfast event celebrating Deja Vu. I’ve loved this line but avoided collecting it because I knew I wouldn’t be able to stop at one. However, the centerpiece was so, so, so very tempting!

Dame de Loisirs (Lady of Leisure)

Dame de Loisirs (Lady of Leisure)

As the breakfast theme was “That’s a Wrap,” Amelia came dressed in her own lacy wrap.

So sad to say goodbye!

So sad to say goodbye!

The table favor was a gorgeous collection of dolly-sized cakes and sweets. They looked almost good enough to actually eat!

Yum!

Yum!

Breakfast was eggs, hash browns, bacon, sausage, fruit and yogurt. Well, that’s what I ate. There was plenty of cereal, pastries and other assorted noms for the first meal of the day.

Mr. Tonner held a Q&A session about upcoming and current lines and then it was time for the charity auction! At every convention, several one-of-a-kind dolls are offered to the highest bidder, with all the proceeds going to one of the charities the company supports, A Friend’s House, a facility to help women struggling with various issues.

Royal Pain Ellowyne

Royal Pain Ellowyne

A one-of-a-kind Marley Wentworth

A one-of-a-kind Marley Wentworth

I Never Promised You a Rose Garden Ellowyne

I Never Promised You a Rose Garden Ellowyne

Ruby Red Romance Tyler Wentworth

Ruby Red Romance Tyler Wentworth

Carmen in Black Magic

Carmen in Black Magic

I’ve never participated in one of these auctions, but I loved I Never Promised You a Rose Garden Ellowyne, so I thought, why not? I bid $400 for her, though I was pretty sure she would go higher. Sadly, she did. (Though not sad for A Friend’s House!) Bidding was fun! Though I really should not get into the habit of doing so.

Then, sadly, it was time for farewells and one last trip into the Tonner sales room. But much to the relief of my bank account, I didn’t buy anything. Thomas graciously helped me box up most of the goodies I had gotten over the weekend and helped me carry them down to the UPS shipping desk to send home. But a couple were small enough to go in the suitcase on the plane!

Thomas, Lance, Shannon and I said our goodbyes, then the boys took Shannon to the airport as her flight was leaving that evening. I had booked a flight home for the next day, as I hadn’t wanted to be too stressed about attending the last event, packing and getting to the airport. So I spent the afternoon in my hotel room, packing my crap.

Amelia helped!

Amelia helped!

To my great surprise and delight, around dinner time, Thomas and Lance came back to the hotel to kidnap me for a quick bite to eat. We went to the mall across the highway for Five Guys Burgers and Fries, a place I had always wanted to try, but had never gotten the opportunity. (The curse of living in a small town!) Burgers were good, fries were meh.

Me and my boys!

Me and my boys!

Then it was time for goodbyes, again! Spent the evening watching reruns on TV, hoping I could get a good night’s sleep for my flight home the next day.

Day Five

Woke up early and nervous about having to get to the airport by myself, but I did treat myself to a scrumptious brekky in the hotel restaurant.

Can't eat like this every day!

Can’t eat like this every day!

Finished packing and checked out of my room around 11. The hotel staff got a taxi for me, and I got to the airport with three hours to spare before my flight. Oops! Spent the time mostly people watching and playing musical gates for my flight. Amelia and I said farewell to Dallas and made it home safely without any bumps or mishaps along the way.

I had such an AMAZING time at TonnerCon and I’m so glad I went, despite all the anxiety I had about getting there. I’m really looking forward to the next convention and seeing everybody again!

But before I close out this recap, I have to post the obligatory final picture:

THE LOOT.

THE LOOT.

Hope to see you all soon!

Leave a Reply

