Tonner 25th Anniversary Convention — Day 3

Day 3

Friday began early for me. (Mom decided to sleep in.) Got up and rushed to get ready for the Wilde Imagination seminar. I was really looking forward to this, as the majority of my collection are Wilde dolls. Upon entering the conference room, we were given a Wilde Imagination coloring book!

Aw, yeah!

Aw, yeah!

We were shown a retrospective on the various Wilde Imagination lines, followed by an informative Q&A session where we learned the following:

  • Tonner will be producing ‘Outlander’ dolls
  • There will be a Robin to go with Tonner’s Batman doll, as well as a ‘Dawn of Justice’ Wonder Woman.
  • ‘The Big Bang Theory’ line is being worked on still. Howard and Leonard are the ones being produced next. They are working on Penny, but are having problems with the sculpt. They’ve done the sculpt twice and just aren’t happy with it.
  • The Evangeline Ghastly line WILL continue. Joe Petrollese left behind enough sketches and ideas to keep her around a for a good long time.
  • ‘Empire’ dolls are still in production.
  • The new workers in the Chinese factory are getting up to speed. The old workers retiring caused a delay in releases the past year or so.
  • New furniture is in the planning stages, and may come along more quickly as 3-D printing gets better in the next few years.
  • Tonner DID have a license for ‘Downton Abbey’ and created prototypes for Mary and Matthew when contract disputes between the actors and production company happened. They were asked to discontinue the doll line to avoid additional problems.

A companion Ellowyne was introduced, Satin Doll, and I knew she would be coming home with me.

Dragonfly dress! How could I resist?

Dragonfly dress! How could I resist?

After the seminar, I had a quick look in the competition room (pics in another post) and picked up my raffle tickets. I also purchased two tickets for the one-of-a-kind resin 22-inch American Model being raffled off for charity. She was gorgeous! As soon as I saw her, I knew I had to take a chance.

*grabby hands*

*grabby hands*

Hurried back up to my room to get ready for the next event, ‘Agatha’s Comic-Con Cosplay.’ We were invited to dress up, cosplay style, for the occasion, so I did.

Steampunk style!

Steampunk style!

And so did Amelia….

We match!

We match!

There was no doll centerpiece for this event. Rather, every table had a different pop culture toy as the centerpiece. Ours was a giant red Power Ranger (which is funny, because I was a huge Power Ranger fangirl, back in the day). The “winner” of the centerpiece had to take it home. Fortunately, I did not win, because that sucker was HUGE.

A festive Comic-Con atmosphere!

A festive Comic-Con atmosphere!

Our table gift was an amazing set of superhero dolly T-shirts. Perfect for my nerdy girls!

I can already hear the girls fighting over Wonder Woman.

I can already hear the girls fighting over Wonder Woman.

We were treated to another hilarious video, this time of an interview with an aging Wonder Woman. It had been shown at a previous convention, but it was still very funny! There was also a costume contest, in which an adult Agatha Primrose won. And the companion doll, Agatha’s Comic-Con Alice, was introduced.

So cute!

So cute!

After lunch, Mom and I did the rounds of the competition room and put in some raffle tickets. I had to hurry to get ready for my first workshop, learning how to make ribbon dresses. I sadly did not get any pictures of this, but it was a very cool idea, and one I think I can duplicate for my Sad Sally dolls in the future. To the lovely lady who hosted the workshop, thank you!

The next event was dinner, the “Deja Vu Costume Ball.” Again, we were encouraged to dress up, this time in our favorite time periods. My favorite time period is Tudor England, but as I had limited room in my suitcase, I went with something simpler…. the free love ’60s era.

Make dolls, not war.

Make dolls, not war.

Amelia, however, had ample room in her travel case.

Welcome to 18th century France, Mademoiselle Amelia!

Welcome to 18th century France, Mademoiselle Amelia!

When we walked into the ballroom for the event and saw the centerpiece, I knew I was in deep, deep trouble. Instead of a Deja Vu girl, there was a beautiful American Model doll, dressed in a stunning court gown.

Belle Dame

Belle Dame

I had to have her. And since it was my birthday weekend, I decided to treat myself. (Any excuse, right?)

The table gift was a cute little bird cage tealight holder (which you can see in the above photo). It will fit in well amongst the hoard at home. Dinner was quite delicious and there was another costume contest. In the video presentation, some of Robert Tonner’s friends and fellow doll designers congratulated him on 25 years. Mr. Tonner was also presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award from one of the doll publications (I’m ashamed to say, I cannot remember which one). But it was a pretty awesome moment.

Another companion doll was introduced, a Deja Vu, Anne de Toile. While very pretty, I had to pass, as the American Model doll had done me in for the evening!

So lovely!

So lovely!

After dinner, there was the annual dance party, but as loud music really bothers me, I decided to turn in early to get ready for the final day of the convention.

 

Leave a Reply

